Sports Pulse: The MLB postseason has two losing teams here. There was only a 60-game regular season. Does the 2020 World Series champion need an asterisk? Our MLB experts are debating.


The Houston Astros will try to join the rare company Saturday (8:37 pm ET, TBS) by winning a series in the postseason after winning a 3-0 deficit.

Seemingly on the ropes after being held to five total runs in the opening three games, the Astros exploded for 15 runs in three consecutive wins against the Tampa Bay Rays to force a Game 7 in the American League Championship Series.

If Houston maintains the momentum, it will join five other major professional teams in progress after being caught 3-0. This was done once in MLB history and four times in the NHL. No NBA team got the job done.

The makers of history:


2004 Boston Red Sox

The New York Yankees took a 3-0 lead in ALCS ’19-8 win over Game 3. But the Red Sox stayed alive with winning wins in the next two games, tying the game to the Hall of Fame closer to Mariano Rivera at the same time. Boston Curt Schilling built a four-hit gem in Game 6 to tie the series. Game 7 was a blowout as Johnny Damon had six RBIs in a 10-3 victory. The Red Sox ended St. Louis. Louis Cardinals in World Series to end an 86-year drought in the championship.

Astros infielder Alex Bregman has teammates to watch the ESPN documentary in that series, Four Days in October, before the Houston comeback.

“I sat and watched it with me,” said Astros shortstop Carlos Correa. “This is an inspiring video.”


1942 Toronto Maple Leafs

The Maple Leafs rallied against the Detroit Red Wings in the Stanley Cup Final after coach Hap Day benched top scorer Gordie Drillon. His successor, Don Metz, had four goals and three assists as Toronto beat Detroit 19-7 in the final four games.

1975 New York Islanders

The Islanders, who made their first appearance in the playoffs, showed resilience under coach Al Arbor that would eventually lead to four consecutive Stanley Cup championships in the 1980s. They beat a 3-0 deficit against the Pittsburgh Penguins in the second round, winning Game 7 in a shutout by Glenn “Chico” Resch. Then they did almost the same in the following round against defending champion Philadelphia Flyers before falling in Game 7. They went 8-1 in relegation games that year.

2010 Flyers of Philadelphia

The Flyers remained alive in Game 4 of the second round against the Boston Bruins when Simon Gagne scored in overtime. Philadelphia defeated starting goalie Brian Boucher injured in the next game, and backup Michael Leighton stopped 44 of the Bruins’ 45 shots to win Games 5 and 6. The Bruins, who play at home, were led 3-0 in Game 7 before the Flyers managed to win 4-3 in the second game-winner of the Gagne series. The Flyers eventually reached the Final, losing to the Chicago Blackhawks.

2014 Los Angeles Kings

The San Jose Shark won the first two games of the first-round series with a blowout, then won Game 3 in overtime. Then Kings goalie Jonathan Quick, pulled in Game 1, stopped 130 of 135 shots in the last four games to advance. The Kings won three Games 7 that year to win the Stanley Cup for the second time in three years.

Contributor: Bob Nightengale, USA NOW Sports


Show Thumbnails

Show Captions

Last SlideNext Slide